Mayor's Office


This office is responsible for the overall management of the City government. The City of Annapolis has a "Mayor-Council" form of government in which the Mayor chairs the City Council and also serves as the chief executive of the city government. The Mayor's Office is responsible for managing all city departments and carrying out the policies adopted by the City Council.


The Mayor serves a four-year term and is elected citywide at the same time as the eight Aldermen/women are elected from their respective wards. Unlike the Alderpersons who have no term limits, the Mayor is term-limited to two consecutive four-year terms.